Update: I Chopped My Hair Off

I chopped my hair off for the first time 2 summers ago and since then, I’ve been growing it out so that I could donate it again. My whole, life people would say things to me like, “You know people pay a lot of money to get their hair to look like yours?” + my hair grows so unbelievably fast – I can’t believe it took me 19 years of my life to think of donating it!

Last time, I had been growing my hair out practically my whole life, so I was able to donate 10 inches to Locks of Love. This time I was only able to cut off 8 inches, so after doing some research, I decided to donate to Children With Hair Loss. I knew that hair donation organizations don’t take bleached hair (some don’t even take color treated hair at all) so when I colored my hair for the first time last summer, I made sure to only “lift” the color, rather than bleach it. It’s better for your hair too!

Until I can get over my fear of needles and donating blood, I will donate my hair…ok that’s not the same at all but it’s a start.


2 thoughts on “Update: I Chopped My Hair Off

Leave a comment